Skip to content

April Fool’s Night

April 2, 2013

AprilFoolsNight

I look at the gauntlet thrown

Down at my Sketchers

It is a gauntlet filled with

Promise and discovery

But also uncertainty and doubt

30 poems in 30 days

For me, this challenge

Is certainly a fool’s labor.

But April first means that

National Poetry Writing Month

Has begun

Part of Maurine Thorson’s quote

From an email I received from wordpress

This morning has returned to me

Again and again and again

All day long

“…The point isn’t to turn out a fully formed sonnet each day – although if anyone wants to try, I’m not going to discourage them! The point is to just get something down on the page without worrying about doing it ‘right.’…”

Through out the day

I’ve wondered if I should.

My wife is going to shake her head

And say, “It doesn’t rhyme!”

30 poems in 30 days

Now it’s evening and

The gauntlet’s still there

I heave a sigh

Reach down

And pick it up

From → Blogs

2 Comments
  1. Eric permalink

    Catching up on my Ernie Peters posts
    I work to clear a path through my inbox
    Dispatching the remnants of recent flurries
    Working backwards, I am refreshed
    by this new blog form
    I like it, yet I wonder
    and now I get it
    Bravely done.

Leave a Reply

