Skip to content

Weigh Your Fate

April 7, 2013

Image

I see the man in front of the scale

His arms are folded as he contemplates

 

Whether or not he should insert his coins

And step onto the metal plate to weigh his fate

 

He says What if it’s like that episode of the

Twilight Zone where William Shatner

 

Is at that diner and keeps pushing the button

Of that little fortune-telling box at his table

 

He becomes obsessed with wanting to know

The things you’re not supposed to know

 

And if it weren’t for his level-headed wife

Who convinces him to leave the diner

 

He’d still be there pushing the button of that

Little box, addicted to wanting to know

 

And then he’d never have been in Star Trek

Never have been Captain James T. Kirk

 

I laugh and wonder about why this thing is a scale

Surely one’s weight must play a role in the outcome

 

Since I am overweight, would I receive more

Than I want or am ready to deal with?

 

And what about skinny people?

Would they receive fate lite?

 

The man, with his arms folded, chuckles

At my ponderings and doesn’t budge

 

He should do what I am going to do

Walk away forever, just like Shatner

 

And that’s exactly what I do

 

Sometimes

A little ignorance

Is a good thing

 

 

 

 

From → Blogs

2 Comments
  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically
    tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

