Skip to content

A Friend’s Suggestion

April 11, 2013

Image

A friend of mine commented

On one of my recent posts

That I was finding

Inspiration everywhere

 

She helpfully suggested

That I should write

About Bloody Marys

 

And while the thought

Of writing about such

A wondrous concoction

Truly intrigues me

 

Its possible link to

Ernest Hemingway

 

Its fuzzy and debated origins

 

The perfect percentage

And ratio of Worcestershire

Sauce to Tabasco sauce

 

I have to wonder how

Many other subjects are

Right there in plain sight

Waiting for me to notice

 

Belly button lint

 

Toe jam

 

Bricks

 

Ceiling fans

 

Taxes

 

Ah, crumbs!

I still have to

Finish my taxes

 

And then I reflect

On my usage of

The words “toe jam”

In the same poem

As “Ernest Hemingway”

 

And I feel dull jabs

Of guilt and dismay

 

Or is that just because

I still have to finish

My taxes?

Better get them done

Before I write another poem

 

 

From → Blogs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

