Skip to content

Housekeeping

April 16, 2013

Image

card1

Yesterday marked the half way point of NaPoWriMo’s (National Poetry Writing Month) 30 Poems in 30 Days celebration. I am a couple of poems ahead, so I think I’m doing a-okay thus far. I have been enjoying myself immensely. My wife has actually read three or four of my efforts. Of course, I have to actually go to this blog on my iPhone and then hand it to her. She reads what I show her and gives me a patient smile. Sigh!

I almost went to a poetry-reading event at my local library last week. I should have gone. It would have been good to face the fear of reading my stuff to a group of strangers. I wonder how many poets would have read their offerings from the tiny screen of an iPhone as I would have done? Guess I’ll have to attend the next one to find out.

A friend of mine sent me an email yesterday saying that he read the “Bloody Mary/Hemingway” poem (that’s the one titled A Friend’s Suggestion) to his wife while they were getting ready for work. That this particular friend (who is a very talented and creatively gifted fellow) would take the time during his hectic morning routine to do that, well, it means a lot to me. I’m grateful for all the gracious and kind comments and “likes” I’ve received. WordPress sent me a notice that I’ve achieved a whopping 50+ “likes” thus far. A miniscule amount compared to most other bloggers out there, but hey, you gotta start somewhere, right?

To the 30+ people following this blog — I thank you!

I’ve created an “erniepeters.wordpress.com” calling card to give to people. It was the lowest tech and most out-of-date way I could think of to promote this blog. I get a kick out of handing it to people and seeing if there is even a molecule of recognition in their eyes. Only people of my generation or older have any possibility of noticing that the design is based on Paladin’s calling card from Have Gun Will Travel. I’ve wanted a card like this since I was a kid, and this blog has given me an opportunity to make that childhood desire a possibility. Thank you, blog!

From → Blogs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

