Skip to content

Jane Austen At Home

April 17, 2013

Image

Walking along

The shop-laden

Streets of Carmel

I saw a sign

That read

 

Jane Austen at Home

 

This is news to me.

 

I wonder if i should

Drop in and say hello

 

What would i say?

 

You look great for a

Woman of 238 years

Really

Seriously

Would that i could look

So good when i get past

My bicentennial

 

How’s it going with

That unfinished novel?

It’s called Sanditon, right?

Bet you’re close

To finishing it

 

But then

If i’m going

To play

This game

 

Why couldn’t

Harry Houdini

Be at home?

 

Why couldn’t

Buster Keaton

Be at home?

 

Or Orson Wells?

 

Albert Einstein?

 

I pause

 

What about

My grandpa?

 

And grandma

 

Mom

 

And Dad

 

I’m sure you have

Your own list

 

Funny what a sign

Can make you ponder

 

 

2 Comments
  1. Lisa permalink

    my favorite so far…

  2. this is the one you should read at the poetry reading. which you should do. : )

Leave a Reply

