Skip to content

One Question I Would Like To Ask

April 28, 2013

Image

My wife and I have stayed

Three different times

At a specific bed and breakfast

Located in our beloved

Yorkshire Dales

 

We stay there because

The place has so much

Character and the scenery

Is so outstandingly beautiful

And the British breakfasts

Are delicious and robust

 

I once asked how old

The farmhouse was

And was informed

That a structure has

Stood on the property

For over a thousand years

 

The last time we were there

I was touched by something unseen

My daughter and I experienced

A cacophony of inexplicable noises

That could only be heard

From her room

 

Would I stay there again?

Absolutely

Positively

Without hesitation

Because we consider the place

Our Yorkshire Dales home

 

If we ever get to go to the Dales again

I hope this place is still a B and B

For that is where we’ll undoubtedly stay

And during one of those outstanding breakfasts

There is one question I would like to ask

 

Why is that third-floor window bricked shut?

 

 

3 Comments
  1. Ernie, I love the way you’ve seduced the reader with the mystery that lives within the verses of your poem. Very astute storytelling! I live in the UK so know well how houses are haunted and windows are bricked up. And no-one seems to remember why! And thanks so much for visiting my blog and liking some of my posts. Have a wonderful day. Michele

Leave a Reply

