Skip to content

A Question of Time…

July 4, 2013
Image
The other day, this question was posed to me:

What historical time period would you most like to visit?

I would eschew any time period where dental and personal hygiene is an issue. As alluring as the Wild West is, when I think of all the rotten and decaying teeth and the lack of showers and bathing facilities, I pass.

I think I would like to visit the post-war United States. I would like to experience the exuberance, rollicking economy and can-do attitude of the people of that time period. And with the foreknowledge that we don’t take part in “nuclear combat, toe to toe with the Rooskies,”* there’d be no worries about the only concern of that era—possible all-out communist aggression.

It’d be ALL good!

Technology would suck, but at least the government wouldn’t know my location and business every moment of every day.

* Part of the immortal line uttered by Major Kong (Slim Pickens) in the classic black comedy, Dr. Strangelove or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb.

From → Blogs

2 Comments
  1. Alex permalink

    Glad I was there to partake in this particular question, mine was the Roman Empire. It was amazing to see Rome and the Colosseum and imagine what it was like in those days. Cool site with interesting adventures!!

Leave a Reply

