Skip to content

A Collaborative Effort

September 23, 2013

Image

I found this cartoon the other day.

It is of great sentimental value to me. My old friend, since high school, Mike Embley came up with the caption years ago when I was doing weekly cartoons for the newspaper I worked for.

Mike was a sergeant in the Sausalito Police Department. He was the funniest guy I ever knew, and I’ve known some pretty doggone funny guys. He fought the bravest battle against leukemia I’ve ever seen.

I miss him.

I know if he were still around, he’d be checking out this blog on a regular basis and leaving lots of hysterical comments, putting my meager attempts at humor to shame. But I wouldn’t care, because it would have been like Picasso stopping by and leaving a comment about one of my cartoons, or Bukowski leaving a reply that my poems all sucked. It would have been freaking great!

Before he died, I redrew this cartoon and sent it to him. To add even more value to the collaborative effort, I had my son Nathan colorize it. 

One Comment
  1. Heidi Winter permalink

    Very nice Ernie, Mike is missed!

Leave a Reply

