Skip to content

Two-Sentence Stories — An Introduction

October 6, 2013

Image

Last week, I read the post of a blogger who said that she was going to attempt a two-sentence horror story. After reading her effort, I thought to myself, “What a cool challenge!”

Obviously, telling a complete story with two sentences is next to impossible. A beginning, middle, and an end are difficult to craft within those rigid constraints. However, one can possibly write just enough detail to captivate and coax the reader into imagining his, or her, own beginning, middle and end.

I did a web search for “top two-sentence horror stories,” and was able to find a number of effective offerings. I was delighted to find that a lot of what I read actually conveyed all the detail needed to cause a chill to tingle up my spine and neck (I was reading them at night, in bed, with the iPad providing the only light in the room). One stood out, because it was only one sentence long!

Last month, I dedicated a week to coming up with gags for the Batman-slaps-Robin meme. That was fun. With my full-time job and weekly activities, and a wife who prefers to watch TV with me, I rejoice when I find quick, yet effective ways to be creative.

This week, I am going to post a two-sentence story every day. I won’t stick to just horror. I’ll probably sneak in some science fiction, as well as some suspense genres. As always, I invite you to stop and by and see what I come up with.

From → Blogs

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

