Skip to content

A Cartoon and an Interlude

November 9, 2013

Image

When I was laid off in 2010, I did quite a bit of cartooning. It was like therapy for me. After all the years I spent working for a company that I really liked and respected, and then having said company toss me (along with 25% of the main office staff) away like a crumpled tissue, it left me with more than a little self-doubt and even less self-worth. Immersing myself back into the process of coming up with a gag, roughing it out, tracing it, inking it and then colorizing and typesetting it on the computer was proof that my skills had not atrophied.

Slowly, I’ve been posting those cartoons on this blog. The one at the top of this post is one of those efforts.

I have quite a few journaling cartoons that are still in black and white. I view them as unpostable until I get them colorized. This bias against using anything in black and white has kept me from posting rough sketches too, even if I think the drawing is kind of cool. At some point, I need to revisit this thought process. And it might be soon, as the commitment to post something every day for the month of November goes on.

I have lots of ideas. I don’t seem to ever have a shortage of those. (The haiku I wrote about writer’s block was meant to be humorous and not a commentary about my current state of creative being.) However, having the time and the will to create them is another matter.

2 Comments
  1. You’re doing a great job Bro. I remember some dark days after the layoff. Humor/creativity is great therapy.

Leave a Reply

