Skip to content

Christmas Music on My Car Radio

December 21, 2013

20131221-134145.jpg

When the Christmas music plays on my car radio, my mind flips through memories like 45s in a juke box.

At first, it’s like welcoming life-long friends back into my life after a year’s hiatus.

Then they play something by Bing Crosby, and I see him clearly in my mind’s view screen.

Man, I miss that guy, and the Christmas specials he’d do every year on TV with his family.

So many great entertainers were still alive when I was a kid, and TV brought them right into my home.

Bing Crosby, Bob Hope, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Perry Como, Andy Williams, Dinah Shore, Judy Garland…

I miss ‘em all.

But when Bing Crosby sings “White Christmas”…

I remember how much my mother loved that song and, frankly, just about any music from her era.

She sang well herself, and was asked many times to sing at weddings and other special occasions.

Once, when I was a little guy, sitting in the back seat of our car, I listened to my mom sing as she drove.

I said, “Mom, you should be on TV, you sing so good.”

There was genuine gratitude in her voice when she looked at me in the rear view mirror, “Oh, thank you! That’s so nice of you to say.”

Everybody loved my mom’s singing.

Everybody loved my mom.

And when I can’t take it anymore, I turn the car radio to an AM news-talk station.

2 Comments
  1. Garmire Rich permalink

    Hey you forgot Lawrence Welk! But one thing you’ve written I couldn’t agree on with you more. Your Mom, my Aunt Aldina was a wonderful lady and she was so so kind to me always. And you are so correct in saying that everybody love your Mom–I know I did and still do. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and to your entire family. I Love the blog so keep it coming. I never miss a day of reading just what you have come up with.
    Thanks

    Your Primo,

    Richard

Leave a Reply

