Skip to content

Pops

April 17, 2014

20140418-155422.jpg

The other day at Costco, the guy
at the door checked my receipt.

He handed it back to me
and said, “Here you go, Pops!”

I instantly DISLIKED the name.

It was so dismissive
and marginalizing.

Do I look anything like
Speed Racer’s father?

Do I look like I might own
a root beer company?

Do I look like I manage
my own a malt shop?

Do you ever call a
young dude “Pops?”

Do you ever call a
middle-aged guy “Pops?”

You only call old men “Pops,”
and I’m not ready to be old.

So, I’m not ready
to be called “old.”

Perhaps you should
try a little respect.

How about pretending
you have some manners?

And if you absolutely can’t resist,
you may refer to me as…

“Oh, Venerable One.”

That’d be cool.

3 Comments
  1. Lisa permalink

    Nicely said, Oh Venerable One…comes down to bad manners.

    • Thank you, and you are so right. There’s some thoughtlessness in there too. But maybe it’s like my wife says—I’m too sensitive.

  2. Oh I shouldn’t laugh, I know–and you’re so right, at the very least we deserve some humorous respect! “Pops”, indeed! Wonder what they’d call me, “Mops”?

Leave a Reply

