Skip to content
Tags

Isaac #5 — Bif the Robot

December 5, 2015

image

When I concocted the Isaac cartoon strip, I designed Bif the robot to be somewhat adorable, and fully licensable. I envisioned Bif the robot t-shirts, plush toys, squat action figures, salt and pepper shakers, and lavish vacations in Hanalei. You see, I was on the other side of the camp from where Bill Watterson pitched his tent. While he stubbornly refused to commercialize his beloved characters Calvin and Hobbs in order to keep them unsullied, pristine, and undiminished, I was ready to sell out at the drop of a metaphorical tent stake. I had no problem with it at all. Sigh…I guess the newspaper syndicates weren’t ready for something that looked like Opus the penguin shoved into, what looked suspiciously like, my grandma’s canister vacuum cleaner.

 

4 Comments
  1. Dann permalink

    Lol. Or Opus in an Electrolux coffee pot.

  2. Roxanne Perry permalink

    Great… Just great.. now I want a Bif the Robot plush toy. Thanks a lot Ernie!

    • Hey, Roxanne, good to hear from you. Yeah, I know what you mean about the plush toy. Personally, I most lament the loss of Bif salt and pepper shakers.

Leave a Reply

