Skip to content

Update

March 31, 2017

IMG_4003

While trying to channel the great Lester Dent (who, under the pen name Kenneth Robeson, wrote most of the Doc Savage stories), we have pushed our hero through a good deal of, what looks like, a novella-length first adventure.

Here are a few of my thoughts:

• I really enjoy writing dialog. A creative writing teacher once asked me if I spent all my free time eavesdropping on conversations. That’s all well and good, I suppose, but at what point do I shut my characters up and get on with the story? Dialog helps shore up backstories and fill cavernous sinkholes in the plot, but where’s the cut-off point when enough is enough?

• As far as gratuitous sex and violence goes, well, let’s just say that while the violence is as copious as the gravy poured over the mashed potatoes of a southern-fried chicken dinner, there is no blatant nudity or sex in the story. This is in keeping with the traditional stories written during the pulp era.

• As I write on my trusty iPad “Pages” app, I am constantly glancing at the word count. I hate that. “Let the story play out,” I say to myself. It’ll be as long as it needs to be, right? But I fantasize about reaching not only novella length, but going beyond that, and securing the more laudable length of a novel—a totally amateur move.

That’s all for now. Stay tuned..

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

